Chilli Cheese Fries of the Underground

Out and About

11937952_10200759145616580_235087342_n

When my friend told me the address of The Walrus Club, I said to myself ‘oh that’s the same address as the Regatta Hotel. How strange.’ Silly, old, untrendy me. The Walrus Club is an underground bar.

It was hip and crafty and windowless, just like an underground bar should be (not that I had ever been to one before so how would I know?).

It was also an alcohol connoisseur’s heaven. There was at least 30 different types of every spirit and all of their beers and ciders were on tap and simply satisfying (their on tap Peroni was my favourite for the night for sure). My friend and I were lucky enough to be mistaken as engaged and were treated to some Venezuelan rum from a random and a little bit strange but generous man and his sister (obviously we let them know that we were only 19 and definitely not getting married but they didn’t mind apparently. Venezuelan rum all around!)  The bar men were super friendly as well and gave you taste testers of their special stuff if you asked them nicely 🙂

Next it was on to the food. Always the first thing on my mind whenever I go anywhere of course but when life gives on tap beer and Venezuelan rum one can forget about the important stuff. That’s where the Walrus Bar’s newly beloved thick cut chips and chilli con carne with cheese, sour cream and chives came in. You’d think it was the lighting underground that would make it difficult to get a good food shot while you’re out with your friends but no, it’s your friends themselves! Many a hand had to be swiped away in order to be able to get a photo of the glorious chilli con carne soaked chips.

I mean, look at this one closing in on that sour cream. Despicable. But understandable.

11950887_10200759145736583_1801315099_n

With talented live musicians, delightful nooks and crannies to keep you entertained all night and super cool, old-fashioned decor, The Walrus Club was a winner for my friends and I. So much so, that we soaked up the atmosphere until it was time to start singing ‘Closing Time’ by Semisonic like the classic, young, university students we are. Just kidding. But we were definitely told that it was closing time… one last call for alcohol…so finish your Venezuelan rum or beer. Okay I’ll stop.

The Walrus Club. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

